Samsung HD502HI failure.

Posted on 2009-10-05. Filed under: Uncategorized |

My hard drive which I purchased about a month ago just died a not-so-sudden death today morning.
At first a small number of bad sectors popped up a day before, HDD Health monitor status dropped down to 75% from 91%.
The hdd condition deteriorated overnight. Really badly. It started making ominous rattling noises, SMART status went crazy, windows xp reported that hdd disappeared :(
That is not what I expected from a brand-new, Samsung HD502HI , a  highly praised hard drive.
I settled on buying it mainly for backup storage, so almost all my local backup files are gone now, but thanks to the “backup-of-backup” offsite copies that I make on a weekly basis I’m saved :)
samsung hd502hi

samsung hd502hi failure

samsung hd502hi failure

samsung hd502hi failure

The question is: am I the only one having problems with this model, or it’s an issue that affects the line of all Samsung EcoGreen series ?

On the bright side: this drive was REALLY quiet (5400rmp, only one platter), maintained low temperature (~20-30’C) and had low power consumption.

The warranty is still valid, hopefully I will have it replaced soon :)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Samsung HD502HI failure.”

RSS Feed for ChieftainY2k's piece of mind Comments RSS Feed

Hello, i have the same hd and had the same problem, did you find a fix to it or you had ir replaced?

Hello.

After two weeks I got it replaced with the HD502HJ version, as they did not have exact same model (“HI”).

I was told that the producer pulls HD502HI off the market for “some reason” :-]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

